Custom Groups

With allAccess's Custom Groups functionality not only admins but also users are able to create groups of users for quick and easy sharing purposes. This makes it easier than ever for users to collaborate and work efficiently as a team while saving administrators unnecessary work.

Using Custom Groups in allAccess

In the allAccess web interface simply click 'Settings' in the top right-hand corner and navigate to the 'Custom Groups' section in the menu. Here users can create and manage their Custom Groups with a few simple clicks. Custom Groups are visible only to members of the group and allAccess administrators can see and modify all Custom Groups. Additionally the application provides permission management capabilities to enable a collaborative management of Custom Groups: Members of a group can be classified either as 'Member' or 'Group admin'. Members can share with the group, view the member list and leave the group. Group admins, in addition, can add and remove members, rename or delete the group and set permissions of other members.

Sharing with a Custom Group is as easy and quick as always. Just click on the sharing symbol of a file or folder, go to the 'Users and Groups' tab in the Sharing menu and select the relevant Custom Group from the dropdown menu. Also, all allAccess clients (Desktop/Android/iOS) can be used to share with Custom Groups conveniently.

Transactional File Locking

allAccess’s Transactional File Locking mechanism locks files to avoid file corruption during normal operation. It performs these functions:

  • Operates at a higher level than the filesystem, so you don’t need to use a filesystem that supports locking

  • Locks parent directories so they cannot be renamed during any activity on files inside the directories

  • Releases locks after file transactions are interrupted, for example when a sync client loses the connection during an upload

  • Manages locking and releasing locks correctly on shared files during changes from multiple users

  • Manages locks correctly on external storage mounts

  • Manages encrypted files correctly

Transactional File locking will not prevent multiple users from editing the same document, nor give notice that other users are working on the same document. Multiple users can open and edit a file at the same time and Transactional File locking does not prevent this. Rather, it prevents simultaneous file saving.

Two Factor Authentication

2-Factor Authentication adds another layer of access security to allAccess. The authentication method confirms a user’s identity utilizing a combination of two independent components. Instead of simply requiring a username/password combination, an additional access token (time-based one-time password/TOTP), which can be obtained via mobile phones for instance, is needed to gain access to allAccess accounts. This not only improves access security, but also provides administrators with an option for disabling individual tokens. Time-based one-time passwords (TOTP) can be obtained through services like Google Authenticator or an Open-Source implementation of the TOTP standard like LinOTP. This extension provides the most simple way to add a second factor to user logins. 

Anti-virus scanning

When talking about file sharing, one aspect is key: Security. But security not only means privacy and control over data. It also includes the protection against malicious software like trojans or viruses. The allAccess Anti-Virus forwards files that are being uploaded to the allAccess server to a malware scanning engine before they are written to storage. When a file is identified to be malicious it is prevented from being uploaded to the server to ensure that files in allAccess are free of malware. 

ClamAV is the virus scanner used with allAccess. It detects all forms of malware including trojans, viruses, and worms and scans compressed files, executables, image files, PDF, as well as many other file types. 

File Versions and Aging

The versioning app expires old file versions automatically to ensure that users don’t exceed their storage quotas. This is the default pattern used to delete old versions:

  • For the first second we keep one version

  • For the first 10 seconds ownCloud keeps one version every 2 seconds

  • For the first minute ownCloud keeps one version every 10 seconds

  • For the first hour ownCloud keeps one version every minute

  • For the first 24 hours ownCloud keeps one version every hour

  • For the first 30 days ownCloud keeps one version every day

  • After the first 30 days ownCloud keeps one version every week

The versions are adjusted along this pattern every time a new version is created.

The Versions app never uses more that 50% of the user’s storage quota. If the stored versions exceed this limit, allAccess deletes the oldest file versions until it meets the disk space limit again.